National Forests

The United States has 154 protected areas known as National Forests. They are managed by the US Forest Service, and not the Park Service.

There is at least one national forest in every US state, but ten: Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, North Dakota, and Rhode Island.

The first national forest was established as the Yellowstone Park Timber and Land Reserve on March 30, 1891.